New Zealand

ODI Series

Match Basics

Match Basics:
Match: Pakistan versus New Zealand
Date: 13th January, 2017
Ground: University Oval, Dunedin
Umpires: Wayne Knights, Ruchira Palliyaguruge
Toss won by: New Zealand, elected to bat first.

Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play: 257 all out (50 Overs, RR: 5.14)
Batting: Kane Williamson 73 runs off 101 balls, Ross Taylor 52 off 64 balls.
Bowling: Rumman Raees 3/51, Hasan Ali 3/59.Target: 258 in 50 Overs.2ND Team Play: 74 all out (27.2 Overs, RR: 2.70)
Batting: Rumman Raees 16 off 14 balls, Mohammad Amir 14 off 24 balls.
Bowling:  Trent Boult 5/17, Colin Munro 2/10.Player of the match: Trent Boult, New Zealand
Result: New Zealand won by 183 runs.
Highlights & Analysis
  • It was an abysmal batting effort by the Pakistani batting lineup. The performance was shockingly poor and, at times, amateurish. The failure to play simple defensive strokes and rotation of strike was immensely worrying. The abject display could have been a historic humiliation and resulted in the lowest ODI score ever had the tail end players not chipped in with a few runs.
  • The pitch was on the slower side and the conditions seemed unfavorable for fast bowlers. This seemed likely to favor Pakistan before the start of the match as the guest team’s batsmen have struggled against the new ball while Pakistan have been better with the older one. Alas, The New Zealand quick bowlers were brilliant again and used clever bowling to dismiss the off color Green Team.
  • The newer talent is having a tough first tour but has performed more admirably then their seniors. Shadab, Hasan and Rumman have all taken wickets and showed responsibility when sent out to bat in difficult conditions. One hopes these tough lessons are learnt well for the future.
  • Pakistan were, again, so sloppy in the field while bowling. Sarfaraz Ahmed needs to make sure he and his boys are completely switched on during fielding. They have shown in previous series that they can field well. It is simply a matter of concentration and game awareness.
  • New Zealand have been magnificent in this series. After Boult and Southee’s spell, the change-up bowlers backed them up, their foot never leaving Pakistan’s throat. There was excellent fielding to run out Babar Azam. Before all that, a 73 run innings by Kane Williamson laid the foundation for a series clinching victory.



New Zealand

Sarfraz Ahmed (cap), Azhar Ali,
Babar Azam,
Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez,
Faheem Ashraf,
Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir,
Hasan Ali,
Rumman Raees.
Kane Williamson (cap), Todd Astle,
Trent Boult,
Lockie Ferguson,
Martin Guptill,
Tom Latham,
Colin Munro,
Henry Nicholls,
Mitchell Santner,
Tim Southee,
Ross Taylor.
For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk