PSL 2018: Schedule
Match Basics

Lahore Qalandars versus Peshawar Zalmi
Date: 3rd March, 2018
Ground: Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Umpires: Tim Robinson, Ranmore Martinesz
Toss won by: Lahore Qalandars, elected to bat first.


Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play: 100 all out (17.2 Overs, RR: 5.76)Performers:Batting:FakharZaman 30runs off 17 balls, Brendan McCullum 15 runs off 15 balls.Bowling: Hasan Ali 3/22 in 3.2 overs, LA Dawson 3/20 in 4 overs.Target: 101runs from 20 overs.


2ND Team Play: 104/0 (13.4 Overs, RR: 7.6)


Batting: Tamim Iqbal 37 runs off 35 balls, Kamran Akmal 57runs off 47 balls.

Bowling:FakharZaman 0/1 in 1 over, Yasir Shah 0/15 in 3 overs.


Player of the match: Liam Dawson

Result:Zalmi won by 10 wickets (with 38 balls remaining)

Highlights & Analysis

  1. The Lahore Qalandars continue to redefine rock bottom. Just as you think, surely they can’t play worse than that, they go ahead and prove you wrong. The problems are all the same and so, so obvious. Yet, inexplicably, they have not been addressed and that has led to the continuing of this horrible losing streak. A brittle middle order of a short, weak batting lineup is the most glaring of their issues. Mix that, an average bowling attack, poor fielding and confusing captaincy, and you have got the recipe for disaster.
  2. This was an efficient, solid performance from the Zalmi who never, truthfully, had to step out of third gear, such was the difference in quality of both sides. Hasan Ali, perhaps the best bowler of the shorter formats in the whole world, put Lahore on the back foot immediately. He controlled the dangerous Fakhar and dismissed McCullum, firmly giving his team the early advantage they needed. He started Lahore’s collapse and was assisted by Liam Dawson, whose impressive spin left the Qalandars in a daze.
  3.  The chase was well executed and devoid of any drama, except maybe an early dropped catch. Tamim and Kamran, veterans of the T20 circuit, laid the ground work of their partnership slowly before building upon it steadily. The Qalandars were never given any hope in what was a thoroughly proficient partnership.
  4. Lahore are rock bottom with no points and their season looks to be over already. Peshawar are third and have won three of their five contests.


Lahore Qalandars

Peshawar Zalmi

BB McCullum (C)
Fakhar Zaman
Umar Akmal (WK)
Sunil Narine
Yasir Shah
Cameron Delport
Mustafizur Rahman
Sohail Akhtar
Aamer Yamin
Raza Hasan
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Darren Sammy (c)
Tamim Iqbal
Kamran Akmal
Andre Fletcher
Riki Wessels
Hammad Azam
Haris Sohail
Dwayne Bravo
Khushdil Shah
Umaid Asif
Saad Nasim
Mohammad Hafeez
Shabbir Rahman
Liam Dawson
Sameen Gul
Hasan Ali
Chris Jordan
Mohammad Asghar
Wahab Riaz

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here