PSL 2018: Schedule
Match Basics

Quetta Gladiators versus Multan Sultans
Date: 3rd March, 2018
Ground: Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Umpires: Aleem Dar, Ahmed Shahab
Toss won by: Multan Sultans, elected to field first.


Scorecard Summary

1st Team Play: 102 all out (15.4 Overs, RR: 6.51)Performers:Batting: Sarfaraz Ahmed 30runs off 33 balls, Shane Watson 19 runs off 17 balls.Bowling: Imran Tahir 3/19 in 2.4 overs, SohailTanvir 3/14 in 3 overs.

Target: 103runs from 20 overs.

2ND Team Play: 108/1 (16.4 Overs, RR: 6.48)


Batting: Kumar Sangakkara 51 runs off 44 balls, SohaibMaqsood 26runs off 21 balls.

Bowling:Hasan Khan 1/25 in 3 overs, Mohammad Nawaz 0/17 in 4 overs.

Player of the match: SohailTanvir

Result:Sultans won by 9 wickets (with 20 balls remaining).

Highlights & Analysis

  1. This was a professional performance by the new Multan franchise. The opening bowlers, led by the consistently impressive Mohammad Irfan, choked the flow of runs from the very beginning and slowed the run rate. This meant that no batsman was allowed time to settle on the pitch and construct a positive innings. In the end, Quetta were left with a mountain to climb in the final few overs. Their haste to post a decent total meant they fell victim to the potent Tanvir and the tricky Tahir, who grabbed a hat trick.
  2. The Multan batsmen displayed maturity and built their innings in a slow but assured manner. They didn’t give Quetta a sniff and went about their business with calmness. In the end, guided by Sangakkara, the Multan outfitted coasted to a comfortable victory.
  3. The Gladiators had another bad day at the office and must quickly put it out of their heads as they have crucial games coming up. They have the talent and skill at their disposal to still have a good go at winning the league this year.
  4. Multan and Karachi sit atop the points table with seven points each. Quetta, having won just two of their five games, drop down to fifth place and are stuck on four points.


Quetta Gladiators

Multan Sultans

Sarfraz Ahmed (skipper)
Asad Shafiq, Umer Amin
Muhammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen
Rahat Ali, Shane Watson
Hassaan Khan, Anwar Ali
Jofra Archer
Rilee Rosouw
Rameez Raja (jnr)
Saud Shakeel
Saad Ali
Mahmoodullah Riyadh
Shoaib Malik (c)
Kumar Sangakkara (wk)
Ahmed Shehzad
Sohaib Maqsood
Dwayne Bravo
KA Pollard
Saif Badar
Imran Tahir
Junaid Khan
Mohammad Irfan
Sohail Tanvir

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk