South Africa withdrew from the Rugby Championship 2020 due to the corona pandemic.

The winner of the Rugby World Cup 2019 held in Japan, the main reason of South Africa’s withdrawal is due to being one of the worst COVID-19 hit countries.

The decision taken by the South Africa will affect the Southern Hemisphere tournament set to commence in Australia from 31st October. Without South Africa there may be at the most 6 matches instead of the planned 12. The Rugby teams of Australia, New Zealand and Argentina will contest to finalise the winner of the Southern Hemisphere which will contest the Final with the winner of Northern Hemisphere.