Swiss Open initiated in 1955, is one of the biggest and most important Badminton tournaments. In 2023 with prize money of USD 210,000 it will take place from 21st to 26th March 2023 in St. Jakobs­halle, Basel with participation of many of the best badminton players from around 50 nations.

Allsportspk courtesy the HSBC BWF World Tour shares interesting statistics of the 68 years old Swiss Open 2023.

  • – Denmark are the most successful with 55 titles across all disciplines.
  • – China, on 51, can overtake them by acing the five categories in Basel.
  • – Men’s singles players Roshin (2001) and Hafiz Hashim (2005) are the only siblings with an individual crown each.
  • – Swiss women’s singles icon Liselotte Blumer is the last home champion. She also has the highest number of first place finishes with six victories (1975, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984).
  • – Camilla Martin, joint second with Swede Par-Gunnar Jonsson and Korean Ra Kyung Min on five triumphs, holds the record for most consecutive championships (1994-1998).
  • – Germany remain the sole country to complete a sweep, doing so at the third edition in 1957.
  • – Three of their five winners – Kidambi Srikanth (2015), Prannoy H. S. (2016) and Pusaria V. Sindhu (2022) – are in the draw this year.
  • = Eleven other previous podium toppers are participating.
  • – Sakuramoto, however, is back alongside a new women’s doubles partner– Rena Maiyaura after winning in 2018.
  • – If they win, Lamsfuss/Lohau will be the first Germans since Rolf Russeler/Volker Eiber in 1985 to be winners twice in a row.
  • – A Pusarla victory will make her the second Indian after Saina Nehwal (2011-2012) to achieve back-to-back successes.
  • – Axelsen (2014, 2021) and Puavaranukroh/Taerattanachai are the only top seeds to have won their events.
  • Four of the participating ones could become the second Thai women’s singles champion in 64 years. Thailand’s solitary title came via Pratuang Pattabongs (1959).
  • – In the SuperSeries/World Tour era (starting 2007) however, only players from four countries have won women’s singles – China, India, Japan and Spain.
  • – With three seeded entries – Intanon (3), Chochuwong (6) and Ongbamrungphan (7), Thailand are well-positioned to end the quartet’s dominance. Ongbamrungphan went close last year but fell to Pusarla in the final.
  • – The Thais are going through a mini-drought, with their last crown coming in 2017 via Puavaranukroh/ Taerattanachai.
  • – Malaysia are on a 14-year barren spell in men’s singles and doubles, having not celebrated titlists since 2009 triumphs. First 3 Seeded players -Lee (2), Aaron/ Soh (1) and Ong/Teo (3) have the potential to break that duck.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here