Tour de France: Tom Dumoulin Wins Stage 20; Thomas Geraint Confirms Victory

The Team Sky rider, Thomas Geraint, completed third behind Tom Dumoulin, but it did not matter as he retained his top position in the Tour de France 2018.

As of now, only one stage remains in this tour, and tradition states that the race pioneer is never tested on the last stage i.e. Stage 21. This implies that Thomas Geraint just needs to cross the finish line on the final stage, and become the third Briton to win this prestigious cycling event.

Defending Champion Finds Some Solace

Defending champion of Tour de France, Chris Froome was beaten by Dumoulin to 1st place, however, Froome’s second place allowed him to jump to third in the general classification rankings.

Be that as it may, his expectations of winning a record-equaling fifth Tour title were viably finished in the Pyrenees mountains on stages 17 and 19.

This is because his colleague, Thomas Geraint demonstrated a superior ability than his fellow Team Sky rider and today he confirmed his win by retaining his top position in the general rankings.

Tour de France 2018: Primoz Wins Stage 19; Geraint Closer To Victory

A Huge Win For Team Sky and Thomas Geraint

It will be a 6th British and Team Sky triumph in seven years on this tour, and Thomas will become the main Welshman to win one of cycling’s three Grand Tours.

He will likewise turn into the third Briton to win the Tour de France, after Sir Bradley Wiggins in 2012 and Chris Froome.

The classification of positions after Stage 20 and the general classification of this whole event so far is:

The Stage 20 Classification is as follows:

1. Tom Dumoulin – 40mins 52secs

2. Chris Froome – +1sec

3. Geraint Thomas – +14secs

4. Michal Kwiatkowski – +50secs

5. Soren Kragh Andersen – +51secs

General Classification After The Completion of Stage 20:

1. Geraint Thomas – 80hrs 30mins 37secs

2. Tom Dumoulin – +1min 51secs

3. Chris Froome – +2mins 24secs

4. Primoz Roglic – +3mins 22secs

5. Steven Kruijswijk – +6mins 08secs

For more updates keep visiting allsportspk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here