Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe Match 1

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe
T20 Tri-Series – Match 1
             Match Basics
T20 Tri-series – Match 1:  Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe
Date: 1st July, 2018
Venue: Harare Sports Club
Umpires: TK Musakanda, J Nyumbu
Toss won by: Zimbabwe, elected to field first
 Scorecard Summary
Pakistan’s Innings: 182/4 (20 Overs, RR: 9.1)
Batting: Fakhar Zaman 61 off 40 balls, Shoaib Malik 37* off 24 balls, Asif Ali 41* off 21 balls, Sarfraz Ahmed 16 off 15 balls.
Bowling: KM Jarvis 1/9 in 2 overs, CJ Chibhabha 1/29 in 3 overs, TS Chisoro 2/28 in 4 overs.
Target: 183 runs in 20 overs.
Zimbabwe’s Innings: 108 all out (17.5 Overs, RR: 6.05)
Batting: TK Musakanda 43 off 35 balls, SF Mire 27 off 29 balls, E Chugumbura 14 off 10 balls.
Bowling: Mohammad Nawaz 2/11 in 4 overs, Usman Khan 2/11 in 3 overs, Hasan Ali 2/19 in 2 overs, Shadab Khan 1/29 in 4 overs, Mohammad Hafeez 2/3 in 0.5 overs.
Result: Pakistan won by 74 runs
Man of the Match: Asif Ali
Highlights & Analysis
Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe: 1st Innings

  • The pitch looked flat and hard and clearly in favour of the batsmen. Zimbabwe’s captain chose to field as to not give Pakistan a chance of chasing on this pitch.

  • Mohammad Hafeez and Fakhar opened the innings and Nyumbu was given the new ball by his captain.
  • Hafeez made an aggressive start but in the very next over fell cheaply to Jarvis as Zimbabwe got a dream start to the innings.
  • Hussain Talat joined Fakhar Zaman. Fakhar continued with his aggressive style by hitting boundaries every now and then.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • Talat played cautiously but still lost his wicket to Chibhabha after sharing a 29 run stand with Fakhar Zaman.
  • The Pakistani captain promoted himself up the order and joined Fakhar Zaman. The pair added 38 runs to the total after which Chisoro removed Sarfraz Ahmed.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • At this point, Pakistan were 3 wickets down for 78 runs. Shoaib Malik joined Fakhar Zaman.
  • Both batsmen took the total above 100 runs and in the very same over, Fakhar Zaman reached his fifty and Malik completed 2000 runs in this format.
  • To get a breakthrough, Burl was introduced into the attack. The bowler put on pressure as Fakhar was dropped once but got out in the very next over by Chisoro.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • Asif Ali joined Shoaib Malik. With 5 overs to go Pakistan needed a strong finish to get to a challenging total.
  • The two batsmen achieved this objective by plundering 61 runs in the last 5 overs as Pakistan finished on 182 runs in 20 overs.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe: 2nd Innings

  • With 183 runs required to win this match, Chibhabha and SF Mire came out to bat and Mohammad Nawaz started it off for Pakistan.
  • Nawaz struck straightaway as he pinned Chibhabha lbw to give Pakistan an early breakthrough.
  • CF Mire was joined by Masakadza. Both batsmen added 16 runs to the total as Hasan Ali was introduced into the attack.
  • Masakadza looked to attack Hasan Ali but the fast bowler got his revenge in the same over by claiming his wicket.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • Musakanda joined SF Mire. The pair added 33 runs to the total and Sarfraz Ahmed introduced Mohammad Nawaz back into the attack.
  • The spinner struck yet again as SF Mire became his 2nd scalp of the match.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • PJ Moor joined Musakanda. But his stay lasted only one over as Shadab finally got his first wicket of the match.
  • Chigumbura joined Musakanda. Both batsmen added 24 runs to the total after which Hasan Ali removed Chigumbura.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • At this point, Zimbabwe had lost half their wickets and still needed 94 runs to win from 6 overs. Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe had now become one sided.
  • Burl joined Musakanda and after surviving two overs Usman Khan struck twice to get rid of Musakanda and Chisoro.

Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe

  • Hafeez was induced into the attack and in the very next over, he also struck twice to bowl out Zimbabwe on 108 runs.
  • Overall, Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe was a one sided affair but it was also a morale boost for the Green shirts.

This is the end of the Pakistan Vs Zimbabwe T20. Join allsportspk tomorrow for the next match of this T20 Tri-series. To see the tournament’s full schedule click here.

Pakistan Zimbabwe

Asif Ali

Faheem Ashraf

Fakhar Zaman

Hasan Ali

Hussain Talat

Mohammad Hafeez

Mohammad Nawaz

Sarfraz Ahmed (Cpt.) (Wkt.)

Shadab Khan

Shoaib Malik

Usman Khan

B Muzarabani

CJ Chibhabha

E Chigumbura

H Masakadza (Cpt.)

J Nyumbu

KM Jarvis

PJ Moor (Wkt.)

RP Burl

SF Mire

TK Musakanda

TS Chisoro

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk