Pakistan Polo Association announces a six member Pakistan Polo team for the Zone E playoffs, be held in Johannesburg, South Africa from 5th-12th September 2022.

The play-offs are held for each geographical Zone (details below) as specified for each country/area by FIP-Federation of International Polo. Based on the play-offs of each Zone, a team qualifies to participate in prestigious Polo World Cup.

During 2022 the XII FIP World Polo Championship, will be held in USA from 26th October till 6th November, for which the play-offs are been held.

The Zone E play-offs in South Africa is between Pakistan and India Polo teams. According to Pakistan Polo Association, the talented six team members selected to represent their country on the international circuit are:

Pakistan Polo Team

Raja Sami (Captain) – 4 Goals Handicap

Hamza Mawaz-4 Goals Handicap

Ahmed Ali Tiwana– 3 Goals Handicap

Temur Nadeem– 3 Goals Handicap

Raja Mikayel Sami – 3 Goals Handicap

Jalal Arsalan– 3 Goals Handicap

Mr. Bader Uz Zaman will accompany the team as the Team Manager

The World Polo Championship is a Horse Polo competition held every three or four years, since the first event was held during 1987 in Argentina. Organised by FIP, it is contested by the national teams of member countries.

The last Championship was hosted in Sydney, Australia during 2017 and won by Argentina, with Chile being the Runners-up.

Team Participation Rules for 2022 Event

In total eight teams from the global Polo circuit will compete in the Empire Polo Club in Indio, California, USA. The last 2017 winning team from Argentina and host country United States team, automatically qualify with the remaining six teams competing to qualify from their respective following five Zones:

Five Zones

Zone A – North and Central America

Zone B – South America

Zone C – Europe

Zone D – Asia and Oceania

Zone E – Africa, Pakistan and India