An independent panel headed by Mr Haroon Rashid – Chairperson of the PSL 8 Technical Committee including members – Bazid Khan, Daren Ganga, Nick Knight and Sana Mir, announced the following players and umpire as recipients of various 8th PSL awards.

Multan Sultans performance was extraordinary as they won 6 out of 8 Awards.

8th PSL Award Winners

8th PSL Player of the Tournament – Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, economy-rate 7.59)

Batter of 8th PSL – Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (550 runs, 142.5 strike-rate)

Bowler of 8th PSL – Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, economy-rate 7.59)

Fielder of 8th PSL – Kieron Pollard (Multan Sultans) (11 catches)

Wicketkeeper of 8th PSL – Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (14 dismissals)

Emerging player of 8th PSL – Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, economy-rate 9.45)

All-rounder of 8th PSL – Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) (404 runs and nine wickets)

Spirit of Cricket 8th PSL – Peshawar Zalmi

Umpire of 8th PSL – Alex Wharf

PCB Awards 2021: Winner’s Are …; Rizwan The Star!

Ihsanullah is the first player from the Emerging Category to beat the more experienced and established stars in the cut-throat competition for the prestigious award. Ihsanullah had figures of two for 37, five for 12, three for 24, two for 19, none for 17, two for 22, two for 33, two for 35, none for 35, two for 58, one for 18 and one for 37 in 12 matches. He finished the series with 22 wickets at an economy-rate of 7.59.

The previous seven winners of this award are: Ravi Bopara (2016, Karachi Kings), Kamran Akmal (2017, Peshawar Zalmi), Luke Ronchi (2018, Islamabad United), Shane Watson (2019, Quetta Gladiators), Babar Azam (2020, Karachi Kings), Sohaib Maqsood (2021, Multan Sultans) and Mohammad Rizwan (2022, Multan Sultans).

Ihsanullah was also declared the Bowler of tournament. Previous winners of this award are: Andre Russell (2016), Sohail Khan (2017), Faheem Ashraf (2018), Hasan Ali (2019), Shaheen Shah Afridi (2020), Shahnawaz Dahani (2021) and Shadab Khan (2022).

Multan Sultans captain Mohammad Rizwan was adjudged as the Batter of 8th PSL after he won the Hanif Mohammad Cap for the highest-scorer of the tournament. Rizwan finished the competition with 550 runs at a strike-rate of 142.85 with a century and four half-centuries.  Previous winners of this award are: Umar Akmal (2016), Kamran Akmal (2017 & 2018), Shane Watson (2019), Babar Azam (2020), Sohaib Maqsood (2021) and Fakhar Zaman (2022).

Rizwan also the Wicketkeeper of 8th PSL. He accounted for 14 batters (13 catches and one stump).

Multan Sultans 21-year-old Abbas Afridi won the Emerging Player of the 8th PSL and Kieron Pollard collected the Best Fielder award of 8th PSL.

Abbas finished as the leading wicket-taker with 23 wickets at an economy-rate of 9.45 with two four-fers and a hat-trick. This previous four winners are Umer Khan (2019) Haider Ali (2020), Shahnawaz Dahani (2021) and Zaman Khan (2022).

Karachi Kings captain Imad Wasim was named as the All-Rounder of 8th PSL. The daring left-hander scored 404 runs at a strike-rate of over 170 and also claimed nine wickets at an economy-rate of 7.93.

Alex Wharf was named as the Umpire of 8th PSL,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here