Chess: The Legendary Players

By its temperament, any list of legendary players can be subjective. This is mostly true in case of chess players as different techniques are used by every other analyst to judge a chess player’s performance.

This is why everyone can have a separate list of legendary players. However, there are a few names, that are an unquestionable inclusion in a legendary list. And, in this article Allsportspk presents the name of such players who truly fit on the definition of the word ‘Legendary’.

Magnus Carlsen


A contemporary player, Carlsen is the present World Champion and has held the title since 2013. He turned into a chess grand master at the young age of 13 years old, and gained the record of being the third youngest grand master ever.

In 2013, Carlsen vanquished the reigning World Champion, Viswanathan Anand and in the following year he rose to an all high chess rating of 2882. After these triumphs, Carlsen also won the World Blitz Championship and the World Rapid Championship, which means that he currently holds all three major titles in chess rankings.

As a youngster, Carlsen used to focus mainly on attacking his adversaries. But, as his skills as a chess player matured, only then did he start to use different strategies with a specific end goal to deal with elite players.

A unique ability that Carlsen possesses is that he does not depend on opening planning, as much as other best players. This makes it harder for adversaries to plan against him, particularly, as he tends to utilize an assortment of openings.

Carlsen’s Endgame

His endgame is fascinating, and has been adulated as one of the best in chess history. This is mainly, because the contemporary great has been portrayed to befuddle his adversaries into making erroneous conclusions, through his predominant aptitude.

Carlsen’s style of play is both systematic and courageous at the same time. This enables him to play without committing numerous errors and only making the absolute best moves during a game.

His popularity and positional dominance have welcomed correlations with players like Fischer, Capablanca and Karpov by his mentor Kasparov.

Garry Kasparov

Garry Kasparov holds the record of being positioned at World #1 for 225 months from 1986 to 2005. This is one of the reasons as to why the Russian national, stays a standout amongst the most fascinating figures in chess history.

Kasparov & The Computer

His mastery over the game allowed him to beat even a clever chess computer by the name of Deep Blue. Kasparov crushed Deep Blue in a two-diversion coordinate in 1989, and won another match by 4-2 in 1996. But, in 1997, a refreshed version of the computer finally overcame Kasparov; this was the first time that a computer dominated against a human chess player.

Although, Kasparov faced defeat, his popularity did not, as on the contrary, it skyrocketed after this endeavour. Another reason as to why this loss is still a highlight of Kasparov’s illustrious career is because of his bewildering winning streak.

However, just winning was never enough for the legendary chess player, as after he had won the World Championship in 1986, he began the GMA – Grandmasters Association.

The GMA was intended to enable proficient players, to be associated more actively with the activities of FIDE(World Chess Federation).

The legend retired in 2005, only after he realised that there was no room left for any more self-improvement.

Now he teaches a master class online. Have a look at his recent trailer.


For knowing about Bobby Fischer – A record breaker legendary player, move on to the next page!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here