Match Basics
India’s tour of New Zealand-1st ODI India vs New Zealand
Date: 5 February 2020
Venue: Hamilton, New Zealand
Umpires: Shaun Haig and Langton Rusere  
Toss won by: New Zealand
Scorecard Summary
India Innings: 347/4 (50 Overs, RR: 6.85)
– Batting: Shreyas Iyer 103 off 107 balls, KL Rahul 88 off 64 balls and Virat Kohli 51 off 63 balls
– Bowling: Tim Southee 2/85 in 10 overs
Target: 348 runs from 50 overs

New Zealand’s Innings: 348/6 (48.1 overs, RR: 7.15)
– Batting: Ross Taylor 109* off 84 balls, Tom Latham 69 off 48 balls and Henry Nicholls 78 off 82 balls.
– Bowling: Kuldeep Yadav 2/84 in 10 overs
Result:  New Zealand won by 4 wickets and lead the series 1-0
Man of the Match: Ross Taylor


India’s innings

  • The Indians debuted Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal, while the Kiwis debuted Tom Blundell.
  • The Indian opening pair started the innings well with an opening stand of 50 runs. Prithvi Shaw, however, got caught behind after scoring 20 off 21 by Collin de Grandhomme.
  • Mayank Agarwal was too dismissed after the departure of Shaw after scoring 32 off 31 balls.
  • India lost these two wickets in the powerplay and were 55/2 after the first powerplay.
  • Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer were the new batsmen on the crease and they provided India with a much-needed foundation to make a huge score.
  • Kohli and Iyer both completed their half-centuries, along with completing the 100-run partnership stand for the third wicket.
  • Kohli got cleaned up by Ish Sodhi just after scoring his half ton. He made 51 off 63 balls.
  • KL Rahul joined Shreyas Iyer when India were 156/3.
  • KL Rahul started off his innings in the similar fashion he has been doing throughout the innings and scored in half century in just 42 balls.
  • Shreyas Iyer, meanwhile completed his maiden ODI century for India in just 104 balls.
  • Shreyas, however, was soon dismissed by Southee after scoring 103 off 107 balls. The entire crowd was on their feet to laud the young man’s performance.
  • India then completed its 300 mark in 46.2 overs
  • KL Rahul and Kedhar Jadhav both started smashing the ball all over the ground and India finished with a total of 347 runs.

The Indian Innings terminated with a target of 348 runs

New Zealand Innings

  • The well-reputed New Zealand’s opening duo, Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls started off the innings and did so quite well as New Zealand scored 54 runs in the first powerplay without losing any wickets.
  • Martin Guptill, however, lost his plot midway and was dismissed by Shardul Thakur after scoring 32 off 41 balls.
  • No Williamson, so debutant Tom Blundell made his way to the middle and joined Nicholls. However, he too was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav after scoring a measly 9 runs off 10 balls.
  • New Zealand completed its 100 in 17.5 overs while Henry Nicholls too completed his half-century.
  • Ross Taylor joined Henry Nicholls and formed a great partnership together, however, Nicholls was runout by Virat Kohli after scoring a great 78 off 82 balls.
  • Tom Latham joined Ross Taylor and they made a 100+ run partnership. Latham and Taylor both scored half centuries during the process and some power hitting by both the batsmen slowly but surely saw New Zealand through.
  • Latham was too dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav after scoring a quickfire 69 off 48 balls, but New Zealand were almost through.
  • Ross Taylor completed his 73-balls hundred and New Zealand just need 14 runs from 18 balls by then.
  • Wickets of Grandhomme and Jimmy Neesham tumbled on the other end but Santner, along with Ross finished the proceedings in style as New Zealand finally beat India by 4 wickets and 11 balls to spare.
  • New Zealand longed such an important win and they start the series on a high note.

New Zealand beat India by 4 wickets and lead the series 1-0