Formerly known as the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup, now known as FINA Marathon Swim World Series will be held in Doha, Qatar on  18 March – Saturday.
Qatar, a country with water on three sides, with temperature ranging between 19-23C°, will be staging the first races (men and women) of the 2018 circuit. This year’s Series which includes ten meets taking place in some of the world’s most scenic waterways in  different countries – Qatar, Spain, Seychelles, Portugal, Hungary, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, and United Arab Emirates.
In Doha, Qatar, a total of 72 male swimmers and 44 female swimmers from 24 countries will compete. The event will include Olympic and World champions such as Sharon Van Rowendaal and Ferry Weertman (NED), Marc-Antoine Olivier (FRA), not leaving out the last year’s overall winners Arianna Bridi, Simone Ruffini of Italy and their teammates Gregorio Paltrinieri and Rachele Bruni will swim.
To make the event public oriented, there will be three categories available for the public in the Doha Open Challenge: 400m for boys and girls aged 11-14, 800m for boys and girls aged 15-17, and 1,200m for boys and girls aged 18 and over.
The annual prize money to be awarded for Series overall winners in Men’s and Women’s categories will be as follows:
1st place: USD 38 000
2nd place: USD 26 000
3rd place: USD 18 000
4th place: USD 15 000
5th place: USD 11 000
6th place: USD 8 500
7th place: USD 5 000
8th place: USD 3 500
This year’s Series will integrate the Open Challenge (mass participation races), organised in parallel of the 10km elite race, the same day at the same place, to hopefully increase overall audience and media attention.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here