The BWAA – Boxing Writers Association of America has named Floyd Mayweather as Fighter Of The Decade by awarding him the first Joe Louis trophy adding one more feather to the boxing great’s cap.

According to a statement by the BWAA, Canelo Álvarez, Manny Pacquiao and Mayweather were the top three contenders for the prestigious award which was finally decided by a simple majority.

Mayweather, who holds an unbeaten 50-0 fight record with 27 KOs has been at the center stage of boxing landscape with 10 major victories during the decade. He has defeated several prominent boxers of the time including Manny Pacquiao and Canelo Alvarez and even MMA legend Connor McGregor.

The 42-year-old American is also one of the highest-paid athletes in the world topping the Forbes’ list along with other top athletes such as Christian Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, and LeBron James.

Mayweather took to the social media to express gratitude to the BWAA writers who voted for him as his worldwide rejoiced on the deserving honor.

Although Mayweather has not been in any fight for the past couple of years but there are reports of a deal with UFC’s Dana White that he may return to the ring in some form.

Read Allsportspk’s Weekly Sports News Roundup

For regular updates keep visiting: Allsportspk