PSL 2018: Schedule
Match Basics

Match 3:
Lahore Qalandars versus Karachi Kings
Date: 26 th February,2018
Ground: Dubai International Cricket Stadium
Umpires: Tim Robinson, Ranmore Martinesz
Toss won by: Karachi Kings, elected to bat first
Scorecard Summary
1st Team Play: 159/7 (20 Overs, RR: 7.95)


  • Batting: Ravi Bopara 50 runs off 34 balls, JL Denly 28 runs off 14 balls.
  • Bowling: Sunil Narine 2/18 in 4 overs, Yasir Shah 2/25 in 4 overs.

Target: 160 runs from 20 overs.

2ND Team Play: 132 all out (18.3 Overs, RR: 7.13)


  • Batting: Brendan McCullum 44 runs off 30 balls, Fakhar Zaman 19 runs off 15 balls.
  • Bowling: Shahid Afridi 3/19 in 4 overs, Usman Khan Shinwari 3/26 in 4 overs.

Player of the match: Shahid Afridi

Result: Karachi Kings won by 27 runs.

Highlights & Analysis

  1. “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” This is a quote which perfectly sums up Lahore Qalandar’s profligacy and inability to learn from their mistakes. Mistakes which are obvious and, which should be, fixable. Their gung-ho approach to T20 cricket on the slower tracks of Dubai once again meant that they ended up on the losing side. For all the firepower in their batting lineup, they lack the composure and tact of their rivals in chasing down targets.

2. The Lahore outfits bowling has also been prone to mistakes and lethargy when      in good positions. The Karachi Kings were stumbling their way to an uneasy          140 or maybe even less around the 15 over mark. However, Ravi Bopara’s            experience and the bowlers’ ineffectiveness meant that they posted a solid            total of 160.

3. The spinners dominated the proceedings. Both Sunil Narine and Yasir Shah did      well for the Lahore team. But, like many times before, it was Shahid Afridi            who grabbed the headlines and tipped the scales in his team’s favor. Shahid        Afridi, backed up by Imad Wasim, pressured Lahore’s fragile middle order and      made it cave in.

4. Karachi Kings maintain a hundred percent record with three wins out of three        and are atop the leaderboard. Lahore Qalandars languish at the bottom of the      standings and have yet to register a victory.


Lahore Qalandars

Karachi Kings

BB McCullum (C)
Fakhar Zaman
Umar Akmal (WK)
Sunil Narine
Yasir Shah
Cameron Delport
Mustafizur Rahman
Sohail Akhtar
Aamer Yamin
Raza Hasan
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Imad Wasim (C)
Khurram Manzoor
Shahid Afridi
Babar Azam
Colin Ingram
Ravi Bopara
Muhammad Amir
Tymal Mills
Muhammad Irfan
Muhammad Rizwan (WK)
Joe Denly
David Wiese
Muhammad Taha
Hassan Mohsin
Usama Mir

For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk