West Indies Vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test

West Indies Vs Sri lanka West Indies Vs Sri Lanka
Test Series
West Indies Vs Sri lanka
             Match Basics
2nd Test Match – Day 2: West Indies Vs Sri Lanka
Date: 15th June, 2018
Venue: Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia
Umpires: ML Udawatte, CAK Rajitha
Toss won by: Sri Lanka , elected to bat first
 Scorecard Summary
West Indies 1st Innings: 118/2 (44.3 Overs, RR: 2.65)
Performers – Day 2: 
Batting: Devon Smith 53* off 134 balls, Powell 27 off 45 balls.
Bowling: Kusan Rajitha 1/25 in 12 overs, Kumara 1/48 in 13.3 overs.
Highlights & Analysis
West Indies Vs Sri Lanka: WI 1st Innings 

  • The West Indian openers Devon and Brathwaite resumed play under cloudy skies with Lakmal starting off the proceedings for Sri Lanka.
  • Both batsmen started off slow but began to gather pace after drinks. Apart from the debutant, Rajitha no bowler was looking to get wickets.
  • Both Devon and Brathwaite batted on and put a 50-run stand.
  • Rajitha was bowling tight line and lengths and adding pressure on the batsmen who were finding it hard to put bat on ball.

West Indies Vs Sri Lanka

  • His excellent bowling was rewarded soon enough as Brathwaite was caught behind off his bowling and Sri Lanka lost their 1st wicket.
  • Powell joined Devon. After playing a few overs rain stopped play.

  • Play resumed after rain and despite creating several chances Sri Lanka were unable to get a wicket as Smith reached his fifty.

West Indies Vs Sri Lanka

  • And, one over after this milestone rain stopped play once again.

  • Play resumed after the inspection. Powell and Devon brought up their fifty partnership. But, Powell couldn’t hold out for long as Kumara struck and West Indies lost their 2nd wicket.
  • Shai Hope joined Devon Smith. But the play was suspended after a few overs due to bad light.
  • West Indies finished with 8 wickets in hand and trailing by 135 runs.

Join Allsportspk tomorrow for Day 3 of West Indies Vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test.

West Indies Sri Lanka

D Bishoo

DS Smith

JO Holder (Cpt.)

KAJ Roach

KC Brathwaite

KOA Powell

ML Cummins

RL Chase

SD Hope

SO Dowrich (Wkt.)

ST Gabriel

A Dananjaya

ARS Silva

BKG Mendis

CAK Rajitha

DM de Silva

LD Chandimal (Cpt.)

MDKJ Perera

ML Udawatte

N Dickwella (Wkt.)

RAS Lakmal


For updates regularly visit: Allsportspk