31 teenagers were selected as probables to represent Pakistan in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup West Indies 2022. For which they will participate in a six-week training and preparation camp for the event to be held at the NHPC-National High Performance Centre in Lahore from 4th January 2021.

29 off the 31 players have been selected based on their outstanding performances in the recently held PCB U19 three-day and one-day tournaments. Also keeping in mind the ICC’s age criteria for participation in the 14th World Cup, which only permits players born on or after 1st September 2002.

Chair of the Junior Selection Committee, Saleem Jaffar stated that, “Unlike in the past, when we used to assemble our junior squads in the lead up to a global event, we have made a strategic decision to start our preparations, at least, 12 months in advance and that too under the supervision of the best available coaches at the National High Performance Centre.”

NHPC coaches, including Atiq-uz-Zaman, Mohammad Yousuf, Saqlain Mushtaq and Umar Rashid. The junior head coach Ijaz Ahmed will assume charge of the camp when he returns from New Zealand with the Pakistan Shaheens’ squad.

The six-week camp is the first of a series of training and preparation camps that will be staged throughout the year at various High Performance Centres across the country. The objective to set up the camp 12 months prior to the event.

31 Probables

Batsmen (12)

Abbas Ali (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Abdul Faseeh (Northern), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (Balochistan), Aun Shehzad (Southern Punjab), Fahad Munir (Central Punjab), Maaz Sadaqat (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Irfan Khan (Central Punjab), Mohammad Shehzad (Southern Punjab), Mohammad Waqas (Central Punjab), Mubashir Ali (Southern Punjab), Qasim Akram (Central Punjab) and Rizwan Mehmood (Sindh)

Wicketkeepers (4)

Ghazi Ghori (Sindh), Haseebullah (Balochistan), Mohammad Raza-ul-Mustafa (Northern) and Salman Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Fast bowlers (7)

Ahmed Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Asim Ali (Sindh), Aurangzeb (Balochistan), Awais Abbas (Southern Punjab), Muneeb Wasif (Central Punjab), Tahir Hussain (Southern Punjab) and Zeeshan Zameer (Sindh)

Spinners (8)

Adeel Meo (Sindh), Ali Asfand (Central Punjab), Aaliyan Mehmood (Sindh), Arham Nawab (Central Punjab), Faisal Akram (Southern Punjab), Ismail Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mehran Mumtaz (Northern) and Talha Ahsan (Sindh)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here